Aunidan Christi
5 min readJun 17, 2021

River Lagan Walks. 1. 2021

Standing on one Leg.

The River Lagan in Belfast, Northern Ireland is an amazing place of not only Belfast, but also of Northern Ireland.

After twelve years of being confined indoors due to an acquired brain Injury, cluster headaches, PTSD and severe mobility problems due to severe sciatica, and after a kind neighbour Noel suggested I come out with him and the dogs, Monty and Maddie for an hour or so each week, at first I said, “No,” but when the corona virus lockdowns and restrictions began in March 2020, then I decided it would do me no harm to get out of my prison for an hour or so a week, which now 8 months later I am so grateful I did.

You see dear reader, a few months before going out and about along the River Lagan, her towpaths, parks and pathways I bought a Nikon CoolPix P900 camera, which I could not really afford, but in the months to come after I bought it, when my River Lagan Walks began and my Brain Injury Matters NI photography classes also began 8 months ago, the reason for my new camera became clear to me, even though I am still paying for it today, but I am glad I got it now, especially when you see the amazing wildlife, scenery, Jetliners and other amazing photographs I have captured with my Nikon CoolPix P900 camera these last 8 months.

Up Close and Personal.

As it says in my bio, I have written 10 River Lagan Walks books in the last 8 months and 4 Spiritual Truth books since 2017, all of whom are available on Amazon.com-Aunidan Christi

The Angel of the River Lagan.

The River Lagan is not only a very beautiful river, but also a very famous river as well.

It travels from its beginning in the Mountains of Mourne in County Down to its finish in Belfast Lough in Belfast City, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, which is a lot of exploring to do along the 23 miles of this beautiful river in Northern Ireland, and its all free.

Walking the Plank.

In my photograph above and my other photographs of the Grey Heron, the Heron is standing in one long leg, but what baffles me is, where is the other long leg tucked into?

Reflections of a Black Headed Gull.

I take photographs of all that catches my eyes, upon the Earth-Plane and above it, and none of my photographs are without their beauty in there own kind of way.

You see dear reader I spend hours editing my photographs when I return home after my hour or so out each week, and if they are good enough to make it by my critical eyes and mind I include them in my River Lagan Walks books available on Amazon.com-Aunidan Christi and now here on Medium.com

Up close and Personal with a White-Tail Bumblebee.

I have only begun to practice taking photographs of the small creatures of Mother Nature and as you can see from my photograph above, the detail my Nikon CoolPix P900 captures of this White-Tailed Bumblebee is simply amazing.

This is the beauty of my River Lagan Walks because I never know what is round the next corner, big or small.

Caught in the Second.

My Nikon CoolPix P900 camera is also amazing for capturing the split second movement of the wildlife in and around the River Lagan, her towpaths, parks and pathways as my photograph of these two Gulls shows perfectly.

The Dance of the Gulls.

I call my last photograph “The Dance of the Gulls.”

It was only in recent weeks while watching Spring Watch on BBC2 that I found out that there is no such animal as Seagulls.

They are simply called Gulls, and the name Seagull comes from those Gulls that live beside the sea, so I at 57 years of age is still learning as I evolve in life.

Beautiful Moorhen.

There are so many beautiful creatures to see on the River Lagan and her towpaths, I never get bored of photographing them for my River Lagan Walks books available on Amazon.com, and the Social Media Sites and photography sites I am on.

Monty having a Laugh.

This is Monty, one of our walking companions, who does this funny thing each time he is out with Noel and myself, and Maddie when she goes out with us.

Now let us meet Maddie, the beautiful Shih Tzu.

Maddie Relaxing.

Maddie looks so cute as she relaxes on the grass up in Barnett’s Park in South Belfast, part of the River Lagan Valley Parks.

Both Monty and Maddie are in their senior years which suites me well because of my mobility problems in walking to fast or far.

An Old Faithful Robin Red Breast.

I call the Robin Red Breasts the Old Faithful’s because they are never far away when you are walking along the River Lagan towpaths, and if you carry some seeds with you you will get some amazing photographs like mine.

Hand Feeding a Robin.

My friend Noel is a master of feeding the Robin Red Breasts because he has been going out for so long, whereas I am but a novice of 8 months in feeding them.

The Watchers.

I call the Crows “The Watchers,” because even though they let on they are not watching you, they are, plus they are like a scene from Albert Hitchcocks “The Birds.”

Well that part 1 of my River Lagan Walks over part one over and I you enjoyed it.

Until our next walk together I wish you well.

Best regards

Aunidan

Aunidan Christi

I am a writer who has published 14 books on Amazon.com-Aunidan Christi, four Spiritual Truth books and ten River Lagan Walks books.